Places to Visit: Summit County Colorado

Crested Butte Colorado
> Getting Here
> Summit County Colorado

Summit County Colorado

Within a 3-4 hour drive from Crested Butte, you could be skiing or hiking the slopes of Summit County, Colorado. Located on the western side of the Continental Divide, Summit County is home to 4 ski hills and the towns of Keystone, Copper Mountain, Silverthorne, Dillon, Frisco, and Breckenridge.

Recreation abounds in Summit County throughout the year. With four ski areas, Arapahoe Basin Ski Area, Breckenridge Ski Resort, Copper Mountain Resort, and Keystone Ski Resort, Summit County is famous in the winter. Each area has its own character and personality, yet provides equal amounts of fun. No matter what level skier or snowboarder you are, you will enjoy skiing in Summit County. Lessons are available at each ski area for those who are just starting out or for those who would like to clean up their form or work out some kinks.

Summers are just as impressive as the winters. With hundreds of miles of trails and slopes filled with wildflowers, Summit County provides outdoor athletic challenges in a picturesque setting. Among the summer activities you and your family can participate in include, biking, fishing, rafting, hiking, camping, horseback riding, sightseeing, and so much more. Guides and outfitters are abundant for those trying out a sport for the first time, leaving no excuse as to why you didn't get on a horse or raft on your vacation out West.